go to seeing go to reading go to learning go to playing go to making go to knowing

go to animal kingdom

go to farm animals

go to mammals

go to birds

go to fish and the like

go to reptiles

go to amphibians

go to invertebrates

  title of the text about animal kingdom  
  The animal kingdom comprises two main groups: vertebrates and invertebrates. Before reading further about them, watch the funny video my "boss" has especially created on the subject for you.


Vertebrate animals have a spinal column (also known as spine) formed by small bones, each called a vertebra. Man possesses 24 vertebrae: 7 cervical, 12 dorsal and 5 lumbar. Generally speaking, vertebrate animals have two pairs of limbs. There are five main classes of vertebrates: mammals, birds, fish, amphibians, and reptiles. Dogs are vertebrate mammals.

go to mammals go to birds go to fish and the like go to amphibians go to reptiles

Invertebrates are animals lacking a backbone: insects, spiders, shrimps and other crustaceans, molluscs, worms, and so many others.

go to insects go to arachnids go to crustaceans go to molluscs go to worms

Barry's signature
  back to mammals  
    All Texts and Illustrations © Dulce Rodrigues, 2009. All rights reserved